Liebie's Random Ramblings

Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect everyone who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are ruined. — Patrick Henry

Hi Capacity Mag vs. Standard Capacity Mag

I can’t tell you how many times I’m asked “What do you need a 30 round clip for?”  Typical question isn’t it?  My answer has been “It’s called a magazine and 30 round magazines are just fucking fun!”  My mother didn’t appreciate that answer and she didn’t talk to me for a few days. But other than that I get eye rolls and then they leave me alone.

There is a difference between Hi and Standard capacity mags.  My Glock has 15 rounds.  The 30 round magazine we got for it is what I would consider a Hi capacity for that gun(yes we got one for it – just had to!!)  The mags for my AR are 30 round – standard capacity.  If I can find a mag that holds more I may consider it.  Just because I can!!!!

But on a more serious note, here is a PSA that should make most of those who want to know why you need more than 7 or 10 rounds hopefully change their minds.  I know that there are those freaks out there that don’t think they should fight back if someone wants to harm them or their family.  Me, I’ll do my best to protect my own.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Hi Capacity Mag vs. Standard Capacity Mag

  1. Actually, a 30 round mag for an AR-15 is a high capacity mag. The original Stoner AR variant produced in the 60’s came with a 20 round mag to mimic the M-14 which was the previous infantry rifle. The ineffectiveness of the 5.56 jungle environment caused the switch to the 30 round magazine.

  2. Reblogged this on The Broken Patriot and commented:

    standard and high capacity magazines enhance a weapon’s performance, while a reduced capacity magazine retards the capability. One reason everyone doesn’t carry a 1911 is because of the 8 round mags, while some 9mm’s and .40’s are capable of firing sometimes double the rounds.

  3. liebie1 on said:

    Good points. I guess I’m just used to seeing the 30 rounder.

Leave a Reply

